Currently Browsing: singles

Phillipidon – Special

The latest single from Phillipidon, Special was released on Friday, March 6th.

According to Phillipidon:

“Special is about a spunky, beautiful lady who’s like a breath of fresh air, and who constantly energizes your daily activities like a merry muse.”

The song Special has been featured in the live set of Music4Life for the last couple years. Releasing Special allows his international fanbase an opportunity to enjoy the song as well including his monthly performance at Jamaica Live concert series in Kingston. 

The riddim track was created by musician Marc Schaefgen and @DJRJ with Marc on bass and guitar and RJ handling keys, drums and engineering. Horns were provided by some of Austin’s finest horn players: Darren Conway on trombone (also a band member), Tom Robinson on saxophone, who we have worked with since the 90s, and Jeff Lofton, who’s been recognized several times by the Austin Chronicle as the jazz musician of the year.

Music4Life will perform Special with Phillipidon at the SXSW 2020 Reggae Day Party at Flamingo Cantina on Tuesday, March 17th at 5:00 PM with the Music4Life band, which also features one of Austin’s veteran reggae singers, Alan “Moe” Monsarrat of the Mau Mau Chaplains, formerly with I-Tex and The Lotions.

Production Credits:
Phillipidon (Philip White): lyrics, lead and background vocals
R.J. Johnson: keyboards, drum programming, background vocals, engineer, final mix
Marc Schaefgen: bass guitar, electric guitar
Angel Austin: background vocals
Alan “Moe” Monsarrat: background vocals
Trombone: Darren Conway
Trumpet: Jeff Lofton
Saxophone: Tom Robinson
Chris Fischer, Critical 1 Studios: Mastering

Under The Overpass – Moe featuring General Smiley

Moe and General Smiley are attempting to convey the plight of so many elderly homeless people on the streets. It’s something we see too often. While solutions to this problem are difficult to devise and implement, it is our hope that our song will call attention to it and provoke positive change. The song was inspired by a woman named Shirley who is homeless in Austin and she is featured in the video which was released by Music4Life on October 19, 2018.

Production Credits:
Alan “Moe” Monsarrat: lead vocals, bass guitar
R.J. Johnson: keyboards and acoustic drums, recording engineer
 Marc Schaefgen: guitar
JaRon Marshall: keyboards
Mario Vela: percussion
Kim Pollini: background vocals
Chris Fischer: Mastering
Steven Stanley: Mixing

Big thanks to Ras Gilbert for linking us with General Smiley.

Smooth Sailing by Alan Moe Monsarrat

Smooth Sailing is our 2nd release from Alan Moe Monsarrat and was released on Friday, May 25, 2018. It was written by Curly Putman and Sonny Throckmorton, and Moe had this to say about the song:

“I’ve always loved the song and since Sonny is my dear friend I decided to cover a few of his tunes reggae style. This track has a definitive ‘80s dancehall rhythm with the beautiful melody floating above it. Sonny loves it and we hope you do too. I bet you could sing a baby to sleep with this one.”

This is the first release from a forthcoming tribute EP tentatively called Thank You Sonny that we’re working on.

Production Credits:
Alan “Moe” Monsarrat: lead vocals, bass and electric guitar
R.J. Johnson: keyboards and drum programming, recording and final mix
 Marc Schaefgen: ukulele
Mark Wilson: flute solo
JaRon Marshall: keyboards
Ras Gilbert: percussion
Kim Pollini: background vocals
Chris Fischer: Mastering

You can order on Amazon here:

You can order from iTunes here:


Only Jah Loves Them All

Only Jah Loves Them All, a new single and video from Alan Moe Monsarrat & Phillipidon was released on Friday, November 3, 2017.

In the lyrics, the message of His universal and unending love for all His children is revealed. We are all His children, young and old and of all colors. He is capable of this love that we can only aspire to. Let us all be encouraged to be more like H.I.M.


  1. Only Jah Loves Them All (feat. Phillipidon)
  2. Only Dub Loves Them All (feat. Micah Shalom)

Production Credits:
Alan “Moe” Monsarrat: bass and electric guitar
R.J. Johnson: acoustic drums, keyboards, programming and engineering Marc Schaefgen: guitar
Micah Shalom: coronet, slide trombone
Steven Stanley, Kingston, Jamaica: mixing, percussion
Chris Fischer, Critical 1 Studios, NYC: Mastering

Distribution by Zojak Worldwide




Song For Mama – Devine Songz

Production Credits: 
Lead Vocals: Devine Songz
Background Vocals:
John Patterson: keyboards and programming
R.J. Johnson: keyboards and programming, engineering  Josh Mouton, Kris Brown
Umberto Echo, Munich Germany: mixing 
Chris Fischer, Critical 1 Studios, NYC: Mastering

Thriller U – Isn’t It Wonderful

Isn’t It Wonderful, from reggae singer Thriller U, is about the joy one feels when they are loved and and are able to love that person in return. It’s available now on Amazon & iTunes:

Production Credits: 
John Patterson: keyboards and programming
R.J. Johnson: keyboards and programming, engineering 
Josh Mouton, Kris Brown, Paul Pollini: guitars
Umberto Echo: mixing 
Chris Fischer, Critical 1 Studios, NYC: Mastering
Art: Fuman Studios

« Older Entries